What do you think of when I say…?

What are the first words that come into your mind when I say “Jesus”?

What are the first words that come into your mind when I say “Christian”?

Why is there so often a gap between who Jesus is, and who his brothers and sisters – Christians, called to be imitators of Christ – are?

Is one of the reasons that we sometimes allow ourselves to become divorced from God’s love? That we neglect relationship with him? This has been a hard week for me. After a number of weeks on holidays, I’ve gone back to work. The schedule of prayer and meditation that was easy during holidays is suddenly hard now. I’ve missed saying the office in the morning a couple of times, and I’ve felt myself becoming inattentive to the still, small voice of God. It’s easy to do. One of the challenges of the monastic in the world, is to be true to the vocation whilst being in the world. Because it’s in that way that we take the light of Christ into the world, and allow others to feel his love. Sadly, I don’t always get there.

Leave a Reply

