Hospital – 4 April 2007

Today’s entry is brought to you by the letter P. P stands for platelets, which I don’t have a lot of right now. My haemoglobin level (HB) is 85, and the plan is to transfuse me prior to going home. I’m a bit tired and certainly look pale and haggard, so I guess I need it.

I slept well last night, and manage still to be afebrile. I’m continuing on IV antibiotics, still having oral antibiotics, and having the various anti-infectives to keep me healthy. It seems another bug was cultured from my gut, and I’ll need some additional time on IV antibiotics – until Saturday 7 April. My mouth is still sore, because of the mucositis, which is normal.

Sharna (part of the Sharna+Suzanne dyad who manage my care) came around today for a chat. She wanted to catch up, and to let me know about arrangements for my next admission, on 16/4. I also need to have rituximab sometime next week, and will probably have a new PICC inserted at the same time. A week spent in hospital – well, I guess it can’t be helped.

I can look forward to the treat of two new episodes of Doctor Who when I get home, which will be good. I’m looking forward to home!

There’s not much else to write about, because so little happens here…

Leave a Reply

