Blood bags…

hourglass.jpg

Blood bags are something I’ve become used to over the past months.

Yesterday was again spent at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre having blood transfusions. I had three units of red blood cells, and two units of platelets, bringing my week’s total to nine units of red blood cells and two units of platelets. My clinicians are having a hard time pinning down the cause of my profound anaemia and thrombocytopenia.

The most frustrating thing about having a blood transfusion, from my point of view, is time. Time spent waiting round to find out initial blood counts, time spent waiting while donor blood is cross-matched and tested, time travelling to and from hospital (three hours each way), and time while the products are infused – about 90 minutes per bag of red blood cells, and about 30 minutes per bag of platelets.

Still, I can’t overestimate how grateful I am for the generosity of those who donate. Thankyou. It is no overstatement to say that without you I’d be dead!

Leave a Reply

