Hospital Day +8

My counts have definitely begun to recover. Today’s are:
• Haemoglobin: 100 (of which 20 is from yesterday’s transfusion)
• White blood cells: 0.7 (a seven-fold increase from yesterday)
• Platelets: 17
• Netrophils: 0.39 (from nil yesterday).

Provided my temperature comes under control (the presence of white blood cells and neutrophils will help with that), discharge should not be too far away!

I have a blood nose today, because of the lack of platelets. I’ll be up for a transfusion of them today. I’ve also noticed that my beard has started falling out – oh well, to be expected I guess.

My consultant just came to visit, and let me know that if all goes to plan I should be discharged on Monday or Tuesday. Yay! He also let me know that I haven’t officially engrafted, but tomorrow should be the day.

Leave a Reply

